The 1998-1999 Season was the first year that Team 230 played in a FIRST Robotics Competition. Starting off life as Team MAD (Mutual Assured Destruction?,  Multi-purpose Autonomous Design?), this team hit the ground running.  Their robot, with the official name Dr. Klaw, affectionately became known as the “Mud Duck.” It was a slow steel framed monstrosity with a scissor lift and a cleaver mechanism that scooped up the floppy game pieces used that year.   Yet is was enough of a machine to garner the 1999 NE Rookie All-Star Award and almost took us to Einstein.


Dom Amaturo Andrew Grant Justin Lada Michael Scarlata
Jason Bachman Glenn Heyse Laura Mariano Craig Shaffer
Jennifer Baker Joshua Hill Julie Easter Brad Smith
John Barros Dave Holden Sean McCaffrey Jonathan Stern
Chuck Baugh III David Hotchkiss Drew Mihalik Chuck Stewart
Chris Bertucio Erik Ibsen James Ordija Ven Tadipatri
Dave Chapman Stacy Koty Rob Recalde Jay Tottenham
Rachel Foglia Kevin Lundberg Tom Reed Eric Vogl
Mike Frank Michael Lasse Elizabeth Rieth Eric Whiteley
Sergei Golos Matt Lawrence Brett Rogowski Chris Zito


Charles Baugh Vladimir Golos Larry Reed Richard VogI
Paula Bachman Judy Heyse Debbie Rogowski Nancy Whiteley
Barbara Bertucio Glenn Lawrence Rich Rogowski Paul Zito


Ron Mileski John Niski Kerry Taylor Lou Schmecker

Engineers/Sikorsky Support

Tom Dannenhoffer Sue Hitchcock Liz Sheppard Henry Voegeli
Al Hatchimonji Robert Lundberg

1999 Events

o  UTC New England Regional – Meadows Music Center – Hartford, CT March 18-20, 1999
       o  Rookie All-Star Award
o   National Championship  Walt Disney World – Orlando, FL April 22-24, 1999

Team Awards
        o  Talon Award – Eric Vogl

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search